JOY UCHENNAYA

The Growing Christian Community. Here, we use storytelling, short letters and the medium of questions and answers, to share our stories as growing Christians: our strengths, challenges, weaknesses, wins, struggles. We do these to encourage each other, portray true transparent growth and to constantly remind ourselves of the saving and healing grace in Christ.


๐ป๐ด๐‘‰๐ธ ๐‘Œ๐‘‚๐‘ˆ ๐ธ๐‘‰๐ธ๐‘… ๐น๐ธ๐ฟ๐‘‡ ๐ฟ๐ผ๐พ๐ธ ๐บ๐‘‚๐ท ๐ผ๐‘๐‘‡๐ธ๐‘๐‘‡๐ผ๐‘‚๐‘๐ด๐ฟ๐ฟ๐‘Œ ๐ฟ๐ธ๐น๐‘‡ ๐‘Œ๐‘‚๐‘ˆ ๐ผ๐‘ ๐ด ๐‘€๐ธ๐‘†๐‘†?

Have you ever been in a situation where you asked God for help in a particular situation and felt abandoned?

Do you ever wonder why you felt that way, or if others felt that way too in similar situations?

In this blog post, you’ll find a story of how I felt like God intentionally left me in a mess, and how I saw that it was God’s help all through.

Sometimes, when I’m alone, my mind travels to that year in school when I was robbed on my way to my friend’s place to charge some phones. Crazy how the phone that was stolen wasn’t mine, but a friend’s phone.

New phone that wasn’t even up to two weeks.

I still remember how it happened. I was walking with my girlfriend, let’s call her Amarachi. I noticed a guy in a red polo walking towards us like a drunk, I was about to call my friend’s attention to the guy in red before everything happened.

It was like a movie the way I was flung on the floor. I mean, I know I don’t weigh that much, but it was embarrassing the way he flung me on the floor. Effortlessly. No struggle.

As if I don’t eat food in that school ๐Ÿ™‚

I released my friend’s phone and I sat on the floor. I didn’t want to stand up ever again. I wanted to stay there crying forever until it dawned on me that it wasn’t safe and those guys might come back when they realize that they didn’t beat me up. I stood up and started screaming my friend’s name.


I remember how I almost kept malice with God during that period because according to me, I was abandoned by God, I cried for help but I was ignored.

(I’ll not even lie, I think it was my mother’s name I was calling that day, because my mind couldn’t even process anything. Lol)

I was like ‘God no even reason my matter at all. Upon say na person phone.’

My brain started working when we were told that two days before we were robbed, some girls were robbed at the same place and the thieves designed their bodies with cuts using knives. And here I was, crying about being abandoned by God when God was the reason those guys didn’t hurt me.

I mean, the girls released the phones, yet the thieves hurt them.

I was dragging the phone and the thief didn’t even reason me one slap.

Even one slap I did not see.
Talk more about knife cuts.

God o!

‘I’m sorry for vexing.’

I was vexed that they threw me on soft soil while others had knife cuts.


Ah!

It’s not even like I’m more righteous than them. It’s just God’s mercies.

My point is, we don’t see where exactly God acts, and because He didn’t act in the exact area where we wanted Him to act, we start annoying him with our annoyance.

I’ve learned to give God thanks in all seasons.

And also thank him that the friend whose phone I lost was glad that they didn’t touch me while I was crying because of a stolen phone.

That phone with a mad camera. Heh.

I pray those thieves have come to the knowledge of God’s light.


Click here to read about why you should be thankful in all situations.

If you would love to read more about how to understand being abandoned by God, click here.

Have you ever felt abandoned by God? How did you react? Did you cry for days, or did you move on, trusting God through it all?

Please let me know in the comment section.

P.S.: Join the Growing Christian Community via WhatsApp. Here we help each other grow in Christ, by sharing true life stories of our walk with God, we also share letters and questions with the Community. The purpose is that you grow with a healthy Christian Community.

Join via this link.

I can’t wait to have you on board.

The Growing Christian

Photo credit: Google



Leave a comment

About The community


This Community shares true, relatable stories as regards life and Christianity that enhances growth.
Here, we use storytelling, articles, short letters, interview sessions and the medium of questions and answers, to share our stories as growing Christians: our strengths, challenges, weaknesses, wins, struggles.

Recent Posts

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started