JOY UCHENNAYA

The Growing Christian Community. Here, we use storytelling, short letters and the medium of questions and answers, to share our stories as growing Christians: our strengths, challenges, weaknesses, wins, struggles. We do these to encourage each other, portray true transparent growth and to constantly remind ourselves of the saving and healing grace in Christ.


๐‘ฏ๐’๐’˜ ๐‘ฐ ๐’ˆ๐’๐’• ๐‘ฌ๐’Ž๐’๐’•๐’Š๐’๐’๐’‚๐’๐’๐’š ๐‘จ๐’•๐’•๐’‚๐’„๐’‰๐’†๐’… ๐’‚๐’• ๐’‚ ๐’€๐’๐’–๐’๐’ˆ ๐‘จ๐’ˆ๐’†.

I’m Daniel, I’m a 20-year-old and this is my story…

I don’t like writing but I hope the little I wrote helps someone out there.

So, it started in my last year in secondary school, I was just a young Christian who was not too cautious of my living, but somehow I got into a relationship. It was my first though, I didn’t even know what I was getting into. I remember she called me and then things happened, so at a young age, I got myself emotionally engaged with this girl at a young age.

I had convictions from God that I wasn’t ready for this but I didn’t listen.
So for a while, everything was going well with me and my girlfriend. I wasn’t focusing on my academics anymore, it was just this girl.

Trouble came when another girl came in and to cut the story short I got into a love triangle at age 17.

I got worried about things that not even a guy in his 20s should be worried about.
So it ended badly as I cheated on both of them, I was confused as to what I was feeling.

Photo Credit: Google
I think teenagers or anyone in their 20s that is willing to build his or her life should not even be looking towards getting into a relationship because at that age you are emotionally unstable to involve in that

So I was heartbroken, but you know my friends were like, ‘I will get over it,’ but I didn’t get over it.

All of a sudden I felt depressed, I felt anger, and guilt. After graduation it got worst, you know the devil uses the slightest opportunity to attack someone, especially at your lowest.

A month after that, somehow, I started heavily watching po.rnography and also started mast.urbating. It has been a serious battle since then, I’ve been fighting it for about 3 years now, and by the grace of God, I’m happy that I’ve won that battle.

Photo Credit: Google
If you’re a teenager or in your 20s and you don’t see marriage as an end goal just stop.
Secondly, if you’re facing heartbreak, I will say that as a Christian all things worketh together for good, it’s a time to reflect and start afresh maybe God didn’t want that to be, he wanted you to focus on more important things ahead, stop crying and lean to Jesus. He is our bridegroom, don’t forget and keep in mind there will always be better things ahead.

Peace and blessings.

Photo Credit: Google
Dear Growing Christian, thank you for reading through.

What do you think about Daniel’s story?
Let me know in the comment section.

Would you love to join The Growing Christian Community and share your story, letters, article, or question amongst other growing Christians like yourself?

Join us here.



Leave a comment

About The community


This Community shares true, relatable stories as regards life and Christianity that enhances growth.
Here, we use storytelling, articles, short letters, interview sessions and the medium of questions and answers, to share our stories as growing Christians: our strengths, challenges, weaknesses, wins, struggles.

Recent Posts

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started